Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art

A guide for finding art resources and information

Browse Credo Art Reference titles

OR search for a particular title, work, or topic

Credo Logo

Find more e-Reference sources from these databases:

Featured Reference E-books

100 Ideas That Changed Art

100 Ideas That Changed Art

From the earliest cave paintings through to the internet and street art, this book chronicles the 100 most influential ideas that have shaped the world of art.

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists

Covering over 1300 artists who span the globe, this dictionary is made up of alphabetically arranged entries for painters (such as Monet), architects (such as Aalto), and sculptors (such as Brancusi) from pre-Christian times to the present (see, for example, Berlin painter, Hockney). Each artist's entry includes dates, training, career, influences on his or her work, and, for approximately one-third of the artists, a bibliography of further reading.

The Bloomsbury Guide to Art

Provides a fascinating insight into the origins and significance of the work of Western artists and architects. It includes tightly-focused entries on: individual artists (eg Salvador Dali); art, architecture and design terminology (eg Gothic); countries and their cultural significance (eg Art in France); theoretical concepts (eg formalism); and mythological and religious subjects and symbols (eg Christ). There are also contextualized entries on important individual works of art (eg The Haywain).

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.

Critical Terms for Art History

Offers a spirited reassessment of art history's methods and terminology.

The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture

Containing over 6,000 entries from Aalto to Zwinger and written in a clear and concise style, this authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. It also includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excluding living persons), from Sir Francis Bacon and Imhotep to Liang Ssu-ch'eng and Francis Inigo Thomas. The text is complemented by over 260 beautiful and meticulous line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles. Bibliographies and recommendations for further reading are also included.
DOI: 10.1093/acref/9780199674985.001.0001