John E. Riley Library: Government Information: Find Publications

Search Congressional Research Reports

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Search the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

Scope

More than 500,000 records generated since July 1976 are contained in the CGP and it is updated daily. The catalog will grow to include records for publications dating back to the late 1800s, making the CGP the central point for locating new and historical Government publications.

The CGP was originally the online counterpart of the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, which had been printed since the passage of the Printing Act of 1895. The print version of the Monthly Catalog was discontinued with the December 2004 edition.

For publications issued prior to 1976, the printed Monthly Catalog should be consulted. Print editions of the Monthly Catalog and many of the publications indexed in it were distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program. The NNU Library documents collection no longer includes print copies of the Monthly catalog. To locate the depository library nearest you, use GPO's Locate Libraries service at: https://www.gpo.gov/libraries/

Online Resources

GovInfo.gov This link opens in a new window
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government including Presidential Documents, the Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, the Federal Register, and more.

Click Logo above to search USA.gov the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.

Federal Register Search
The Federal Register is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Under the provisions of 1 U.S.C. 112, the printed edition of the Statutes at Large is legal evidence of the laws, concurrent resolutions, proclamations by the President, and proposed and ratified amendments to the Constitution.

Library of Congress Catalog

Library of Congress Online Catalog
The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials.