Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Education

General Education at NNU

According to the mission statement, Northwest Nazarene University offers an undergraduate curriculum that "is designed to instill a habit of mind that enables each student to become God's creative and redemptive agent in today's world." This curriculum provides both depth (the student's major field of study) and breadth (the General Education Program) to nurture our students' highest intellectual, physical, and spiritual development.

The General Education Program is the foundation of all undergraduate education at Northwest Nazarene University. It purposely expresses, through curriculum, the mission of the University as a Christian liberal arts institution in the Wesleyan heritage. The objective of the General Education Program is to provide a common experience for the personal and intellectual growth of each student. Students are brought into contact with the great persons, ideas, and movement of human culture and the Christian faith. The curriculum is intellectually challenging and designed to set the tone for all courses at the University.

General Education Council 2020-2021

Membership

The General Education Council is made up of voting representatives from the each of the colleges as well as a representative from the non-traditional undergraduate programs.  Included in the council are non-voting participants including the Registrar, the Global Connections Coordinator, the Director of NNU Online, a representative from the Dean's Council, and the Vice-President for Academic Affairs.

Monthly Meetings

During the 20-21 Academic Year, the General Education Council meets virtually on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 11:00 am, except for the months of December and March.

Members

Voting
Representing
Name 
Email
Yes Arts and Humanities Devon Van Essen dovanessen@nnu.edu
Yes Arts and Humanities Amy Gilles agilles@nnu.edu
Yes Behavioral and Social Sciences Sarah DeBoard Marion sarahmarion@nnu.edu
Yes Education Tracy Marshall tmarshall@nnu.edu
Yes Natural and Applied Sciences Dale Hamilton dhamilton@nnu.edu
Yes Natural and Applied Sciences David Hille dhille@nnu.ed
Yes Nursing Rebekkah Hulen rebekkahhulen@nnu.edu
Yes Theology and Christian Ministries Stephen Riley  {chair} sriley@nnu.edu
Yes Academic Services Cathy Becker {vice-chari} cbecker@nnu.edu
Yes APP Director Holly Ripley hripley@nnu.edu
No Registrar Ann Crab registrar@nnu.edu
No Global Connections Coordinator Shanae Lloyd shanaelloyd@nnu.edu
No Director of NNU Online Dennis Waller drwaller@nnu.edu
No Dean's Council Judy Marlett jlmarlett@nnu.edu
No Vice President of Academic Affairs Brad Kurtz-Shaw bradshaw@nnu.edu