John E. Riley Library: Music and Musical Theatre: Books

Main Print Collection

You can search the NNU catalog at any time by using the search box below.

Most of our music books are located on the Second Floor under LCC classification "M".

Music books include biographies of composers, music theory books, books related to a musical era (medieval, renaissance, baroque, classical, romantic, modern), worship, or musical studies.

Hint: to find a book by its title, put the title in quotes and include the author's last name (e.g. "story of god" and lodahl)

I only want to find ebooks

Credo Reference: Music

Reference Books

Located on the First Floor under the letter "M"; author information is in "P".

Popular Reference titles include:

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor) The world's greatest music encyclopedia. 27-volume set covers the history and development of music, instruments, musical forms and terms, musical cities and institutions, and thousands of eminent composers and performers. The text is fully illustrated with photographs, drawings and musical examples, and all major articles include extensive bibliographies. Entries on composers are accompanied by detailed lists of compositions, which, for example, list the precise instrumentation required for many compositions. These acclaimed worklists alone are a valuable resource.
Call Number: REF ML100 .N48 2001
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Nicolas Slonimsky 6-volume set covers all musical genres, with entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists. More than 15,000 biographies span the medieval ages to the present. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on the musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.
Call Number: REF ML105 .B16 2001
ISBN: 0028655257
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: REF ML105.H38 1996 and ebook
ISBN: 0674372999
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Single volume work gives pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.
Also available in Credo Reference. Click linked title to get to ebook.
European Writers by George Stade (Editor); William T. Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: REF PN501.E9 1983
ISBN: 0684165945
Publication Date: 1983-11-01
14 volume set; presents extended essays on important European writers from the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century. Vol. 14 includes extensive author and subject indexes for the set.
British Writers by Ian Scott-Kilvert (Editor)
Call Number: REF PR85.B688
ISBN: 9780684157986
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
This collection of critical essays covers writers who have made significant contributions to British, Irish, and Commonwealth literature from the 14th century to the present day.

Music and Musical Theatre

Finding e-books

Recommended ebooks

What if I can't find it at NNU?

See the Beyond NNU -- Interlibary Loan tab above for policies and instructions on requesting items from other libraries (Interlibrary Loan) -- for free!

Main Print Collection

Credo Reference: Music

Reference Books