This guide will help NNU students in the College of Theology & Christian Ministries with their studies. It includes topics such as:
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by
The New Interpreter's® Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB) in five volumes provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. The dictionary contains maps, charts, and illustrations to further clarify the written material. The biblical text used is the NRSV translation. A diverse group of 900 scholars from 40 countries have contributed 7100 fresh new articles with 8400 entries including persons, places, things, theological concepts, and much more. These contributors were selected by the editorial board for their expertise in their field and for the quality of their scholarship in publication. Special care was taken to select authors who could provide a variety of perspectives from different theological traditions (Protestant, Catholic, Jewish), diverse theological trajectory (conservative and liberal), and from the social locations of gender, ethnicity, and race. Topics are listed in alphabetical order from A-Z and evenly divided among the five volumes. The main entry (in bold) includes a pronunciation guide. Hebrew and Greek origins of the entry follow, with transliteration. Longer articles contain an introduction that summarizes the topic and include a helpful outline to guide the reader. Articles conclude with a short bibliography and cross references to related articles. In each definition, authors strive to incorporate as many biblical instances of the term as possible in the given amount of space, and to discuss the theological, social, or ecclesial implications of the topic, so that the definitions are practical aids to the tasks of preaching, teaching, and study of the Bible. Volume Structure; 1. A - C 2. D - H 3. I - Ma 4. Me-R 5. S - Z Readers who are trained in ancient languages will appreciate the discussion of Hebrew and Greek terms, while at the same time, readers who are not familiar with Hebrew or Greek should not have difficulty following the articles, because transliteration and complete definitions are used throughout. "The New Interpreter's Bible Dictionary combines the latest biblical scholarship with the practical needs of pastors, teachers and students in a way that will deepen their understanding and enliven their experience of the living Word in scripture." Rev. Jim Harnish, Hyde Park United Methodist Church, Tampa, Florida "I'm looking forward to the New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible so I may continue with the work of the church. I've read many articles already, and it is very helpful when you are working on a sermon, a presentation, or preparing for a Bible study class." Rev. Evelene "Tweedy" Navarrete-Sombrero, Holbrook United Methodist Church, Holbrook, Arizona
Your professor may put items on reserve for you to check out for a short time. You may ask for your reserve material at the Learning Commons Service Desk.
