For off-campus students you may wish to change your Google Scholar settings to find full-text articles through the NNU Riley Library. This guide will walk you through how to change the settings in Google Scholar.
To find out whether NNU Riley Library has either print or electronic access to journals and magazines, use the Publication Finder service. Enter the journal title OR ISSN in the search box. The next screen will display what access to the journal the NNU Riley Library has. Keep in mind that some publishers impose full text embargoes, so the current full text may not be available. Click on the journal title to see the coverage (dates of available full text). If the article you want is not included, you may need to request the article through interlibrary loan.
Before you request an article through interlibrary loan you may want to search Google Scholar to see if the author has uploaded it to ResearchGate, Academia.edu, or an institutional repository. Always feel free to contact a librarian if you have questions about accessing articles you find in your searches.
Dissertations are great tools for locating research instruments, like survey, questionnaires, and interview questions. They are also useful in seeing how various research methodologies may be employed. Finally, the References can lead you additional sources you may not have located through other searches.
Sometimes the information you need is in the form of a book or eBook, and sometimes, all you need is a chapter. The information below provides instructions on how to search for print and eBooks through the NNU Library, and in other systems. You may have to request a chapter or entire book through interlibrary loan. NOTE: Due to licensing restrictions we are not able to request eBooks through interlibrary (in most cases). You may need to see if a print edition is available that can be requested. You can request to have print items owned by NNU to be mailed to you. Send an email to ILL@nnu.edu and include the following information:
A literature review is an overview of the scholarly literature (books, journal articles) on a given topic. This part of your dissertation or thesis provides the reader with a sense that you have done a thorough survey of the literature to identify the key ideas and concepts central to your topic. The literature review is a mix of summary and critique. The following resources will help you navigate the process of developing a literature review.
There is a process by which the literature review is completed. The elements of the process include: 1) pre-search, 2) research, 3) writing, and 4) refining.
1. Pre-search -- Getting an idea of topics to explore or questions to ask.
2. Research/Searching -- Using library databases, such as EBSCO and ProQuest, to locate sources, and accessing books and eBooks, and the use of interlibrary loan to obtain chapters of books and articles not available through the NNU Riley Library.
3. Research -- Finding the connections between sources/ideas by reading and re-reading your sources.
4. Writing -- As you gather sources and determine the connection between them and your question, documenting the connection after you have read and re-read the sources to gain a deeper understanding of the content and how it applies to your question.
The following three videos provide an overview of the literature review process. The second video addresses some common misconceptions and errors to avoid.
Click on the book title to view the table of contents. You can request to have a chapter scanned and emailed to you by completing this form.
Writing Literature Reviews by Mental Measurements Yearbook is a collection of commercially available instruments. Other sources for "free" instruments include research articles and dissertations. When using instruments from articles or dissertations it's always a good idea to ask for permission from the author to use the instrument.
NNU uses the ProQuest/UMI online tool for submitting your dissertations to your advisory and chair. This tool manages the review, clearing, and publishing of your manuscript in the most efficient fashion. Check with your department or program coordinator for deadlines and submission guidelines specific to your program.
Video Tutorials - How to Submit your manuscript online (temporarily disabled)
Written instructions for submitting your manuscript online
Support and Resources for online submission
Ready? Submit and Upload your dissertation/thesis to your NNU Program Administrator here
QUESTIONS? Contact the education doctoral program administrator.
