NNU Riley Library is an official repository for textbook materials adopted by the State of Idaho as well as supplemental curriculum provided by the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI). All curriculum, teaching resources, and juvenile literature items may be checked out for four weeks.
Location: Second level of the library, southwest section (side closest to the Thomas Family, Health & Science Building).
Arrangement: By subject, grade level, publisher, and adoption date (Example: English LA 3 Pearson 2016). Items in the curriculum collection will have the following designation in the library system:
In addition to the curriculum collection is a collection of instructional, or teaching resources (including manipulatives), such as games, blocks, puppets, rock kits, etc..
Location: Second level of the library, southwest corner (closest to the Thomas Family, Health & Science Building).
Arrangement: By subject call number (according to the Library of Congress Classification), and general subject area (such as Social Studies, Health, Math, Science, etc.). Items in this collection have the following designation in the library system:
Riley Library Teaching Resources - 2nd Floor
You will find these resources on the 2nd floor of the Learning Commons (west end), just behind the print journals. Some copies of children's books may also be available as eBooks.
Items labeled with Childlit or YA will be organized using the Dewey Decimal Classification system. Non-fiction items will be arranged by subject and author. This differs from the rest of the library, which is organized using the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system. Works of fiction are arranged by author and title. Items in this collection also have information regarding the lexile level listed in the item's record.
If you wish to have the teacher and student editions of the curriculum or items from the Juvenile Literature Collection mailed to you, send an email to ILL@nnu.edu and include the following information in the request to have items mailed to you:
Curriculum requests (only the teacher and student editions)
Juvenile Literature Collection items
Be sure to also include a complete and current physical mailing address. Students are responsible for the postage to return items to the NNU Library.
This page provides a list of resources available to find information on both federal and state legislation related to education. If you have any questions about accessing law-related information, please contact a librarian.
Sometimes the information you need is in a print book that is available through the NNU Library. Rather than requesting the book be checked out and sent to you, you can request to have the chapter or section scanned and emailed to you. To access the contents of the print books listed in this guide, click on the item title. If you find information you need, use this form to request having it scanned and emailed to you.
The U.S. Supreme Court by
Magill's Choice: U.S. Supreme Court is an affordable, comprehensive and up-to-date survey of the history and functions of the Supreme Court. There are articles on all the justices, including those appointed by George W. Bush, articles on key constitutional issues, and more than 110 on landmark cases. ""U.S. Supreme Court"" is well organized and features clearly written articles. It offers the additional advantage of coming out at a time when the Supreme Court itself is undergoing important changes that need to be explained. Covered here are issues such as the Court responding to the aftermath of 9/11, the complications of the 2000 presidential election, U.S. involvement in Iraq, and the replacement of two justices, including the chief justice. ""U.S. Supreme Court"" also contains essays on types of law (such as administrative law, bankruptcy law, and state constitutions), individual pieces of legislation, and clauses and amendments to the U.S. Constitution. ""U.S. Supreme Court"" is alphabetically arranged. Each essay opens with selected ready-reference top matter that is most relevant to its category (such as birth and death dates for justices, along with details about their terms of service) and a statement of significance. Longer articles have updated bibliographies, and all articles have cross-references to other articles in the set. Emphasis throughout the set is on clear explanations of subjects, supported by illuminating graphics and illustrations. The 391 essays range in length from 250 to 3,000 words and contain several distinct component parts. All essays open with specially formatted top-matter sections, whose content varies according to essay type. The core of every essay is a clear discussion of its subject, whose relevance to the Supreme Court is constantly stressed. This is followed by alphabetically arranged cross-references to related articles. The top matter of the 110 essays on landmark cases is equally comprehensive. The Cases Appendix in volume 3 summarizes data on more than 590 major court cases, and additional references to cases - including hundreds of cases not covered in individual essays - can be found in the Court Case Index. A comprehensive Subject Index locates discussions of personages, concepts, laws, events, and other topics. Essay top matter is presented in a concise, ready-reference format that provides the most essential information at a glance. Top matter in each of the essays on individual justices, for example, opens with its subject's full name, brief identification, full birth and death information, date and president of appointment, and a summary statement of the justice's significance in Court history. Essay top matter also adds exact dates of the justices' Supreme Court service and identifies the presidents who appointed them. This title includes: 3 Volumes, 1,392 Pages; 35 Sidebars, Tables; 4 Maps; 150 Photographs; 391 Essays; Time Line; Glossary; Table of Court Cases; Bibliography; U.S. Constitution; Category Index; Court Cases Index; and, Subject Index.
Higher Education Law in America
Race and Education, 1954-2007 by
With the Supreme Court's landmark Brown decisions of 1954 and 1955, American education changed forever. But Brown was just the beginning, and Raymond Wolters contends that its best intentions have been taken to unnecessary extremes. In this compelling study, a scholar who has long observed the traumas of school desegregation uncovers the changes and difficulties with which public education has dealt over the last fifty years--and argues that some judicial decisions were ill-advised. Dealing candidly with matters usually considered taboo in academic discourse, Wolters argues that the Supreme Court acted correctly and in accordance with public sentiment in Brown but that it later took a wrong turn by equating desegregation with integration. Retracing the history of desegregation and integration in America's schools, Wolters distinguishes between several Court decisions, explaining that while Brown called for desegregation by requiring that schools deal with students on a racially nondiscriminatory basis, subsequent decisions--Green, Swann, Keyes--required actual integration through racial balancing. He places these decisions in the context of educational reform in the 1950s that sought to encourage bright students through advanced placement and honors courses--courses in which African American and Hispanic students were less likely to be enrolled. Then with the racial unrest of the 1960s, the pursuit of academic excellence yielded to concerns for uplifting disadvantaged youths and ensuring the predominance of middle-class peer groups in schools. Wolters draws on rich historical records to document the devastating consequences of requiring racial balance and sheds new light on America's legal, social, and cultural landscapes. He reexamines the educational theories of Kenneth Clark and James Coleman, and he challenges statistics that support the results of racial balancing by describing how school desegregation and integration actually proceeded in several towns, cities, and counties. Race and Education is a bold challenge to political correctness in education and a corrective to the now widely accepted notion that desegregation and racially balanced integration are one and the same. It is essential reading for scholars of law and education and a wake-up call for citizens concerned about the future of America's schools.
Special Education Law by
Special Education Law 6e, written by Laura Rothstein and Scott F. Johnson, provides a comprehensive and current overview of the major federal law, and judicial interpretations of those laws, that apply to special education students. School administrators and attorneys attend to special education issues on a regular basis, and local superintendents, principals, special education professionals, psychologists, and regional and state administrators must also be familiar with the legal requirements of educating students with disabilities. Classroom teachers in all types of classrooms need to be aware of the laws that affect them and their students. Special Education Law 6e is intended for students in education and educational administration, both graduate and undergraduate, as well as law students in courses on special education law, school law, and special education. The framework of this book begins with five introductory chapters on the major issues that are addressed in special educationlaw. These topics include an overview the legal system, the history of special education, major statutes in special education law, stakeholders such as students, families, educators, and advocates, and finally, requirements for protection under various special education laws. The remainder of the text presents and analyzes special education case law within specific contexts. The text helps educators understand what the law requires so that they can make decisions that comply with these laws.Updates for the sixth edition include a major reorganization of the text. Chapters have been streamlined and edited for clarity, combining a previous chapter on Related Services with Free Appropriate Publication Education, and folding Eligibility into Identification, Evaluation, and Eligibility, so students can better see the connections between these topics. Many case excerpts have been shortened or summarized to provide students with a more straightforward and focused reading experience. The latest updates in statutes, regulations, and case law are included throughout the text.
Listed below are just a few of the eBooks available through the NNU Riley Library on the topic of educational leadership. Under the Research Tools page on the left navigation, go to the "Find Books & eBooks" tab. From here you can use the search box to search by title, author, or subject to see of the NNU Riley Library has a copy of the text you need.
The Dark Side of Educational Leadership by
A valuable resource to institutions of higher education and various state and national superintendent organizations and agencies, The Dark Side of Educational Leadership provides valuable insights into specific resiliency behaviors that contribute to superintendents' abilities to overcome the trauma associated with being a professional victim. Specifically illuminating those issues that contribute most often to the victimization of superintendents, well-researched chapters demonstrate strategies employed by superintendents to prevent similar issues from causing additional pain. Polka and Litchka identify resiliency factors of most significance to superintendents in dealing with the professional victim syndrome, helping superintendents to better prepare for the professional victim syndrome during their professional career.
Foucault and Educational Leadership by
School principals are increasingly working in an environment of work intensification, high stakes testing, accountability pressures and increased managerialism. Rather than searching for the latest leadership fad or best practice model, this book suggests that in order to better understand these pressures, the work of educational leadership requires more sophisticated theorisation of these practices. In so doing, the book draws upon the work of Michel Foucault to provoke new thought into how the principalship is lived and 'disciplined' in ways that produce both contradictions and tensions for school principals. Amidst claims of a shortage of applicants for principal positions in a number of Western countries, what is required are more sophisticated and nuanced tools with which to understand the pressures and constraints that face principals in their work on a daily basis. This book provides a powerful example of theory working through practice to move beyond traditional approaches to school leadership. Key features of the book: provides a well theorised analysis of leadership practices acknowledges the messy reality of life for school principals provides key insights to the 'real' work that principals undertake every day examines the production of principals' subjectivities in education, foregrounding issues of gender and race includes the principals' voices through rich interview data. The book will be of significant interest to principals and those working and researching in educational leadership, including researchers in the field and academics who teach into educational leadership and administration courses. The book will also be of great interest to those working with the ideas of Foucault in education.
The Jossey-Bass Reader on Educational Leadership by
The newest edition of the bestselling book on educational leadership This expanded and thoroughly updated edition of the popular anthology contains the articles, book excerpts, and seminal reports that define and drive the field of educational leadership today. Filled with critical insights from bestselling authors, education research, and expert practitioners, this comprehensive volume features six primary areas of concern: The Principles of Leadership; Moral and Trustworthy Leadership; Culture and Change; Leadership for Learning; Diversity and Leadership; The Future of Leadership. Offers a practical guide for timeless and current thinking on educational leadership Includes works by Peter Senge and Tom Sergiovanni From Jossey-Bass publishers, a noted leader in the fields of education and leadership This important resource includes relevant and up-to-date articles for leaders today on gender, diversity, global perspectives, standards/testing, e-learning/technology, and community organizing.
The Wiley International Handbook of Educational Leadership by
A provocative and authoritative compendium of writings on leadership in education from distinguished scholar-educators worldwide. What is educational leadership? What are some of the trends, questions, and social forces most relevant to the current state of education? What are the possible futures of education, and what can educational leadership contribute to these futures? To address these questions, and more, editors Duncan Waite and Ira Bogotch asked distinguished international thought leaders on education to share their insights, observations, and research findings on the nature of education and educational leadership in the global village. The Wiley International Handbook of Educational Leadership brings together contributions from authors in twenty-one countries, spanning six continents. Topics examined include leadership and aesthetics, creativity, eco‐justice, advocacy, Big Data and technology, neoliberalism, emerging philosophies and theories, critical democracy, gender and radical feminism, political economies, emotions, postcolonialism, and new directions in higher education. A must-read for teachers, researchers, scholars, and policy makers, this Handbook: Champions radical pluralism over consensus and pseudoscientific or political solutions to problems in education Embraces social, economic, and political relevance alongside the traditions of careful and systematic rigor Challenges traditional epistemological, cultural, and methodological concepts of education and educational leadership Explores the field's historical antecedents and ways in which leadership can transcend the narrow disciplinary and bureaucratic constraints imposed by current research designs and methods Advances radically new possibilities for remaking educational leadership research and educational institutions
To search for articles on a given topic go to the Research Tools page on the left navigation. Under the Find Articles tab, you will see listed a series of databases. You should always select the following: Academic Search Premier, Education Research Complete, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection. Depending on your topic, you may select other databases as well.
You can also use Google Scholar and change your settings to find full text content through the NNU Riley Library. This guide provides information on how to change your Google Scholar settings.
To locate print books owned by NNU Riley Library, use the "Find Books, Videos, Music" tab on the library's website.
To locate eBooks available through NNU Riley Library, you can search eBook Central or EBSCO eBooks. There are also a few eBooks available through the JSTOR platform.
Possible Search Terms
| "special education" | "Resource programs (Education)" |
| "Learning disabled children--Education" | "Mainstreaming in Education" |
| "Assistive Computer Technology" | "Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity" |
| "Autism Spectrum Disorders" | "Autistic Children" |
| "Behavior Disorders in Children" | "Dyslexic Children--Education" |
If you are an NNU online/distance student you may request to have print items mailed to you, or have chapters scanned and emailed to you.
Essentials of Planning, Selecting, and Tailoring Interventions for Unique Learners by
A Resource for Designing and Implementing Intervention Programs for At-Risk Learners This authoritative resource provides step-by-step procedures for planning, selecting, and tailoring interventions for at-risk learners with a unique focus on how to individualize interventions using actual case examples. In addition, this volume offers guidelines for gathering and interpreting data in a manner that assists in identifying targets for intervention and rich discussion and information relating to specific academic, cognitive, and behavioral manifestations of students with learning difficulties in reading, math, writing, and oral language. Practitioners will also recognize and learn how to intervene with students from underserved and mis-served populations who are at risk for learning failure including English-language learners and students from impoverished environments. Each chapter describes how specific difficulties interfere with classroom tasks and explain how to select, modify, or otherwise tailor an intervention based on that information. As with all volumes in the Essentials of Psychological Assessment series, this volume includes callout boxes highlighting key concepts, extensive illustrative material, and test questions. The companion CD-ROM provides additional worksheets, case studies, and handouts.
Learning and Learning Difficulties: Approaches to Teaching and Assessment by
This book supports inclusive practice by examining learning difficulties within the context of how humans learn and how teaching can create or prevent problems.
A Practical Approach to Special Education Administration by
Your guide to excelling in the complex role of a special education administrator The job of the administrator of special education is arguably one of the most difficult in a school district--and that complexity can be overwhelming. It requires an aspect of every administrative job in the district, including budgets, human resources, student advocacy, and curriculum and assessment. Written by two veteran special education administrators with more than 100 years of combined experience, this book shows current and aspiring special education administrators how to excel in the many demanding areas of their position, allowing them to be effective administrators and educational leaders. Among the many topics included in the book are The importance of visibility in the form of face-to-face interactions to assist staff, students, and building principals The importance of parents in the process The significance of confidentiality, due process, program development, and working with advocates Insight into decision-making and relationship-building A critical tool in any special education administrator′s box, as well as building administrators, central office administrators and school committee members, this book provides practical and friendly advice for a difficult but critical job.
Special Education Law by
Special Education Law 6e, written by Laura Rothstein and Scott F. Johnson, provides a comprehensive and current overview of the major federal law, and judicial interpretations of those laws, that apply to special education students. School administrators and attorneys attend to special education issues on a regular basis, and local superintendents, principals, special education professionals, psychologists, and regional and state administrators must also be familiar with the legal requirements of educating students with disabilities. Classroom teachers in all types of classrooms need to be aware of the laws that affect them and their students. Special Education Law 6e is intended for students in education and educational administration, both graduate and undergraduate, as well as law students in courses on special education law, school law, and special education. The framework of this book begins with five introductory chapters on the major issues that are addressed in special educationlaw. These topics include an overview the legal system, the history of special education, major statutes in special education law, stakeholders such as students, families, educators, and advocates, and finally, requirements for protection under various special education laws. The remainder of the text presents and analyzes special education case law within specific contexts. The text helps educators understand what the law requires so that they can make decisions that comply with these laws.Updates for the sixth edition include a major reorganization of the text. Chapters have been streamlined and edited for clarity, combining a previous chapter on Related Services with Free Appropriate Publication Education, and folding Eligibility into Identification, Evaluation, and Eligibility, so students can better see the connections between these topics. Many case excerpts have been shortened or summarized to provide students with a more straightforward and focused reading experience. The latest updates in statutes, regulations, and case law are included throughout the text.
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education by
The Wiley Handbook of Diversity in Special Education is a state-of-the-art reference showcasing cutting-edge special education research with a focus on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds. Cutting-edge special education research focusing on children and youth with disabilities from diverse cultural, ethnic, linguistic, and economic backgrounds An authoritative contribution to the field, this work charts a new path to effective interventions and sets an agenda for future research Addresses disabilities from an international perspective
To search for articles on a given topic go to the Research Tools page on the left navigation. Under the Find Articles tab, you will see listed a series of databases. You should always select the following: Academic Search Premier, Education Research Complete, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection. Depending on your topic, you may select other databases as well.
You can also use Google Scholar and change your settings to find full text content through the NNU Riley Library. This guide provides information on how to change your Google Scholar settings.
