John E. Riley Library: Nursing: Journals / Databases

Need help? Ask me!

Rodney Birch

Email Me

Contact:

208.467.8606

Databases for Health & Medicine

ALL EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Specific health/medical databases searchable through the EBSCO interface include: Academic Search Complete, ALT Healthwatch, Biological and Agricultural Index Plus, CINAHL with Full Text, Health Source (Consumer Ed.), Health Source (Nursing/Academic Ed.), MedicaLatina, Medline, Mental Measurements Yearbook, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, and Psychology & Behavioral Health Collection.
ALL ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Specific health/medical databases through the ProQuest interface include: Dissertations & Theses, Health Management, and Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Search more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Database Tutorials

CINAHL Tutorials Online

CINAHL is a nursing and allied health database on the EBSCO platform.

Health Management Databas e

Health Management is health and nursing database on the ProQuest platform.

PubMed - Accessing Full Text

PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine, and has over 19 million citations from Medline and other life science and biomedical journals.

Use the following link for searching PubMed. This version of PubMed will link to any fulltext articles available through Riley Library's licensed resources (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.), when available.

If you find an article for which the full text is not available through either PubMed or the licensed resources, you may obtain the article by requesting the article through interlibrary loan. Follow the process below to request the item through interlibrary loan.

Click the "Request Article through Interlibrary Loan" link. Complete the form and submit. It can take anywhere from a few hours to a few days to get the article from the lending library. It will be delivered to you electronically. If you have questions regarding interlibrary loan, please ask a librarian for assistance or contact ILL@nnu.edu.

PubMed tutorial

Nursing Journals for Research

Journals may be available in either print or electronic formats. Use the Journals A to Z tab in the banner on library's website to find out if the Riley Library has access to a particular journal title and issue of the journal. If the Riley Library does not have access to the article you may use the interlibrary loan service to request the article from another library. The article will be delivered to you electronically to your NNU email address.

Ethics & Medicine
Electronic full text available from Spring 2001 (vol. 17, #1 to present).
Journal of Christian Nursing
The library has print copies from 1984 to present.

The Journal of Christian Nursing (JCN) strives to help nurses and nursing students view nursing through the eyes of faith and practice nursing from a biblically-based, Christian perspective.
Journal of Multicultural Nursing and Health
Electronic full text available from 10/1998 through 4/2007.
Journal of Nursing Administration
Electronic full text available from 9/2010 through 2/2013
Print available from 1/1996 through 2/2011
Nursing Research
NNU Library has Full text access, 2010-2012

Print from 1993-2011
Research and Theory for Nursing Practice
Electronic full text available from 1/1987 through 10/2016
Print available from 1/2002 through 12/2006
Western Journal of Nursing Research
Available in print, 1986 through 2005

Evaluate the Literature

Critical Appraisal Worksheets -- interactive forms for evaluating articles related to diagnosis, e-prognosis, harm, systematic reviews, and therapy (developed by the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine). Available in a variety of languages.

Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice - Research Evidence Appraisal Tool