Card swipe access is enabled after 5:00 PM, Monday through Thursday, and all weekend. Please call 208-467-8607 if you need to be let into the building. Please check the Library Hours page for more information regarding library hours of operation.
SEARCH THE RILEY LIBRARY COLLECTION
Hint: to find a book by its title, put the title in quotes and include the author's last name (e.g. "story of god" and lodahl)
DATABASES A-Z (Community patrons)
Access available on computers connected to the NNU network
Audio / Video
Open access database
Access ABI/Dateline, ABI/Global, and ABI/Trade and Industry databases. Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Covers all subject areas. Over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals, over 2,500 full-text, PDF content dating back as far as 1887, searchable cited references provided for more than 1,450 journals. Updated daily.
Alt HealthWatch provides the latest information and materials for the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies, with in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a searchable database that includes early motion picture collections and films on special topics.
Includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
Full text articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more.
(Institute of Biochemistry at the University of Cologne) Data on enzyme function are extracted directly from the primary literature by scientists holding a degree in Biology or Chemistry. Each data set on a classified enzyme is checked manually by at least one biologist and one chemist. Links back out to related articles on PubMed.
World's largest full text business database, provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Includes “Drug Directories” which covers Drugs Newly Approved by the FDA , NMT Weekly Trial Results, Drugs Currently in Clinical Research, PDR Family Guides Drug Information, and “Drugs in Clinical Trials”.
Full-text literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children and young adults. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, monographs, reviews, and scholarly papers.
Reliable one search access to all important and relevant information about Pre K-12 media of all types, including reviews from respected publications for those professionals who work with Pre K-12 media. Information about books, authors and illustrators around the world.
The series currently covers more than 750 authors and also includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore and graphic novels. More than 97% of critical essays from the print series are reproduced in full in this online version, which combines multiple search and browse options with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
This database provides access to virtually all English language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from 13 allied health disciplines.
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 650 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 850 journals.
Content includes many subject areas and is not limited to: computers, electronics, the internet, telecommunications, computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Search unbiased reports published weekly since 1990. Each report covers a single topic giving background, timeline, pro/con, graphs and data, links to important organizations, and suggested articles for further research.
Search over 100,000 scholarly ebooks from leading publishers. Covers all subject areas. Download is available, but not necessary for reading. To highlight, bookmark, and add to your bookshelf, create an account by clicking "sign in".
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, & forwarding of submissions by companies who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission.
Over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.
The Green File is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments as well as what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Indexing and abstracts for more than 806,000 records and open access full text for more than 12,000 records. Key journals include Agriculture, Ecosystems & Environment, Conservation Biology, Forest Ecology & Management, International Journal of Green Energy, and Journal of Wildlife Management.
Includes key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. An extensive bibliography and a balanced selection of external resources are also provided.
Provides access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines. Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and 110 full-text health reference books.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
INL is part of the U.S. Department of Energy’s complex of national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of the strategic goal areas of DOE: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation’s leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Citations, links to full text if available.
Scholarly research database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text for articles and papers on computer science, electrical engineering and electronics. Database is fully searchable and all references are available to view, but NNU subscription only includes full text for one journal, Spectrum.
The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports publishes Systematic Reviews and JBI’s implementation reports that present the findings of projects that seek to implement the best available evidence into practice. Content is also indexed in Embase, Scopus, Mosby’s Index (Elsevier) and CINAHL (Ebsco).
An interactive online learning tool featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
To sign in - REGISTER AS A NEW USER.
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Information and reviews of tools for psychological and social assessment.
NOTE: This database does not include the full text of the test itself but it does include contact, pricing, and publisher information.
Articles from U.S. government published periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Citations, links to full text if available. National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database. Summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
Contains dissertations, the student newspaper, faculty scholarship, other scholarly content, and archival materials related to Northwest Nazarene University. Collections currently include The Crusader newspaper and Graduate Education Dissertations. Collections in development are NNC/NNU Presidents, and the recently donated Karl Barth Collection.
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, for over 125,000 fiction titles. Also includes other content of interest, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school library media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.
Search children's literature by instructional unit, theme or topic. Access State Curriculum Standards and materials for all K-8 grade levels for picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles as well as teacher resources for classroom instruction. Updated monthly.
Reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
Coverage of more than 500 full text journals, including more than 450 peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is also indexed in PsycINFO.
Abstracts, full text for APA journals in current 10 years plus additional scholarly journals in psychology, mental health, and counseling. APA THESAURUS is only available when searching PsychINFO alone. Content produced by American Psychological Association.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Search more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books
Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. More than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Search multiple science databases with a single search. Two major types of information are included: selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. Gov't agencies include Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, NASA, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, plus many more.
Full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
The Statistical Abstract of the U.S., published since 1878, is the authoritative & comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, & economic organization of the United States. Our library has paper editions going back to 1891. HA 202 U54x.
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress. Published since 1888, the Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data.
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government including Presidential Documents, the Congressional Record, Congressional Bills, the Federal Register, and more.
The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives collected into a single institutional repository initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the global need for access to resources for education, lifelong learning, and specifically ministerial preparation.