The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships by
With the field of personal relationships having grown dramatically in the past quarter century, this volume serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions. The authors are international experts from a variety of disciplines including several subfields of psychology, communication, family studies and sociology who have made major contributions to the understanding of relationships.
The Handbook of Communication Science by
This revision of a classic volume presents state-of-the-art reviews of established and emerging areas of communication science and provides an intellectual compass that points the way to future theorizing about communication processes. In this Second Edition of The Handbook of Communication Science, editors Charles R. Berger, Michael E. Roloff, and David Roskos-Ewoldsen bring together an impressive array of communication scholars to explore and synthesize the varying perspectives and approaches within the dynamic field of communication science. After first addressing the methods of research and the history of the field, the Handbook then examines the levels of analysis in communication (individual to macro-social), the functions of communication (such as socialization and persuasion), and the contexts in which communication occurs (such as couples, families, organizations, and mass media). Key Features: Draws on the scholarship and expertise of leading communication scholars who explore different aspects of the field Covers all facets of communication science, from the historical and theoretical to the practical and applied Covers the latest theoretical developments in the field, as well as alternative methodologies and levels of analysis Explores key communication contexts of the 21st century, including interpersonal dimensions of health communication, the scientific investigation of marital and family communication, and computer-mediated communication Includes incisive analyses, literature reviews, bibliographies, and suggestions for future research The Handbook of Communication Science, Second Edition, is an essential reference resource for scholars, practitioners, and students. It is appropriate for upper-level undergraduate or graduate courses in Communication and Media Studies and Mass Communication.
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication by
The Third Edition of the Handbook of Interpersonal Communication includes eight new chapters and eleven revised from the second edition. Following an introductory chapter, the volume is organized into four parts covering perspectives on inquiry in interpersonal communication, fundamental units of interpersonal communication, processes and functions, and interpersonal contexts. Features include: · Each chapter reviews and updates research in its respective area · Part II examines methodological issues in the field · Includes articles by top scholars in the field of Interpersonal Communication
Health Communication by
Now in its second edition, Health Communication: From Theory to Practice provides a comprehensive introduction to theory, intervention design, current issues, and special topics in health communication. The book also represents a hands-on guide to program development, implementation, and evaluation. This second edition further emphasizes the importance of a people-centered and participatory approach to health communication interventions, which takes into account key social determinants of health as well as the interconnection of various health and social fields. While maintaining a strong focus on the importance of behavioral, social, and organizational results as key outcomes of health communication interventions, this second edition also includes new or updated information, theoretical models, resources, and case studies on: Health equity Urban health New media Emergency and risk communication Strategic partnerships in health communication Policy communication and public advocacy Cultural competence Health literacy The evaluation of health communication interventions To access a companion website with instructor resources (PowerPoint presentations for all chapters, sample assignments, and other resources), please visit www.wiley.com/go/schiavo2e This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
The Role of Emotions in Preventative Health Communication by
Health-related media permeate our modern experience, from using an online search engine to reading a pamphlet about vaccinations at the doctor's office or watching a television news report on the dangers of sitting too much. This book makes the argument that if prevention-focused health messages are to motivate behavior change, they must tug at the heartstrings, and researchers need to understand more precisely how different emotional reactions influence health message effects. In making this case, this book takes a quantitative, social science-based approach to understanding the role of emotions in shaping individual-level effects to preventative health messages disseminated through mass media channels. The book focuses on how discrete emotions evoked by preventative health media messages influence how audiences respond to those messages. Are they persuaded to change their behavior? Will they seek more information? Will they share information with others? Will they support prevention-focused policies? While a rich literature exists on the effects of health-related fear appeals on audiences, researchers have yet to fully explore the role that other discrete emotions play in health communication processes and outcomes. This book fills that gap by providing an overview of the role of nine different emotions--both positive and negative--in various prevention-focused health communication settings. It also introduces readers to commonly employed emotional theories and concepts and relates them to literature on prevention-focused health and policy communication. In addition to reviewing and synthesizing the literature, this book offers new directions to researchers hoping to improve the effectiveness of prevention-focused health messages.
Health, Communication and Multicultural Communities by
Communicating in multicultural settings is a field of central interest to those involved in ensuring access to healthcare. Ever-increasing migration requires access to essential legal, medical and social services. This book provides an overview of current issues in this field through a multi-faceted approach, situating the work of potential healthcare professionals and intercultural intermediaries in the broader context of public service providers and practitioners. The book is not oriented towards one population in particular; rather it is directed towards multiple groups, mainly to students of the health sciences and medical professionals interested in communicating with migrants and visitors, and those who have to work in multicultural settings. It is not a theoretical book, nor is it rule-based by any means. It is a handbook oriented towards reflection and practice resulting from years of experience training mediators, interpreters and translators working in minority languages within multicultural settings. It can be used for self-study and independent learning, but will also be extremely useful to teachers and trainers of future doctors and medical staff who seek materials or readings for their classes. Furthermore, it represents an excellent resource for mediators, interpreters and translators who want to learn more about communication in healthcare setting.
The Art of Communication in Nursing and Health Care by
A handy guide to tackling difficult patient and professional interactions with confidence and compassion In this age of increasing reliance on technology, it is essential that the fundamentals of compassion and good communication--the art of patient care--remain at the heart of health care. This clear, concise guide to professional communication strategies helps nurses and other health care clinicians to build effective patient relationships and navigate a wide variety of difficult patient and professional interactions. Written by a practicing psychotherapist who has devoted nearly 30 years of study to clinician--patient relationships, the book tackles such complex issues as dealing with demanding patients, maintaining professional boundaries, overcoming biases and stereotypes, managing clinician emotions, communicating bad news, challenging a colleague's clinical opinion, and other common scenarios. The book guides the reader through a conceptual framework for building effective relationships that is based on the principles of mindfulness. These principles are embedded in discussions of the fundamental elements of interpersonal effectiveness, such as hope, empathy, and listening. Chapters apply mindfulness principles to specific challenging situations with concrete examples that describe effective clinical behaviors as well as situations depicting pitfalls that may impede compassionate care. From a focus on everyday manners in difficult situations to beneficial approaches with challenging populations, the guide helps health care professionals confidently resolve common problems. Brief, to-the-point chapters help clinicians channel their clinical knowledge and good intentions into caring behaviors that allow the patient to more fully experience empathy and compassion. With the guiding theme of "using words as precision instruments," this is a resource that will be referred to again and again. Key Features: - Helps health care professionals and nurses communicate effectively in challenging clinical and professional situations - Uses the principles of mindfulness to build satisfying relationships and resolve problems - Addresses such difficult issues as demanding patients, maintaining boundaries, overcoming biases, managing clinician emotions, and much more - Provides special tips for communicating with family members and caregivers - Authored by a practicing psychotherapist specializing in clinician--patient relationships for nearly 30 years
© Attic Fire Photography. Used with permission
Most of our communication books are located on the 2nd Floor in the call number range P1-P310. However, you can also search in the catalog for discipline-specific communication books (e.g. search for communication and business or communication and nursing).
Ebook Central provides access to hundreds of electronic books on the subject of communication. Using the genral search term of "communiction" over 115,000 books are retrieved. Try focusing your search by using the advanced search option and changing the "search in" box to subject which will limit your communication search to over 2,000. You can also limit your search by using one of the suggested categories such as:
There are two ways to access the library's ebooks. Just remember that our ebooks are provided by a few different companies, so the look and functionality may be different.
Once on the result page, there are two ways to open an ebook:
OR
Choose Ebook Central to search just the Ebook Central collection of books directly. Other ebook collections are also listed there if you'd like to search them directly: Credo (reference books), Oxford Reference & Oxford Scholarship, and EBSCO ebooks (hint: choose your subject from the "Browse by Category" list).
Hint: If you are using a device with a smaller screen, you may need to click on the "hamburger" menu (the "three lines") to get to Databases A-Z.
CREDO On-line Reference Collection
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
