John E. Riley Library: ENGL1040 (Introduction to Academic Writing): Getting Started

Getting Started with Research

Topic Selection sources are good for just exploring various topics of interest, or to find a particular approach to a topic.

TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
This resource includes a smaller subset of the resources you would find in the full version of EBSCO. You can more easily explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics without getting lost in all of EBSSCO's content. This makes it easier for selecting a topic. For the full version of EBSCO use the EBSCO search box on the library's website.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search unbiased reports published weekly since 1990. Each report covers a single topic giving background, timeline, pro/con, graphs and data, links to important organizations, and suggested articles for further research.

ProCon

Background sources are good for providing historical context or overview of a topic, definitions of terms or concepts, and/or providing perspective on a topic. Magazines, newspapers, reference sources, and general books and eBooks are good sources for background information.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Search unbiased reports published weekly since 1990. Each report covers a single topic giving background, timeline, pro/con, graphs and data, links to important organizations, and suggested articles for further research.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides background information to help start your research. It's better than Wikipedia!
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of over 100 reference books in every subject area including dictionaries, maps, subject encyclopedias, quotation sources, and timelines.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
ALL EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of journals in all subject areas, many in full text. Mark results and save, email, print, or add to Zotero.
ALL ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Gateway to all ProQuest databases. All subject areas. Contents includes articles, books, dissertations, company profiles, and ebooks.

This short video will demonstrate how to employ Boolean operators in the search function of EBSCO, as well as to narrow your search to include only background sources (news, magazines, trade/professional) rather than academic/peer-reviewed sources.

The Credo Mind Map tool is a good way to explore topics and find background sources of information.

The following link will take you to a guide listing various types of news sources, as well as information to consider when evaluating news sources (e.g., bias, fact checking, etc.). If you need assistance locating a news source, or determining the bias or fact checking criteria of a news source, you can contact a library (chat or Schedule an Appointment).

News Sources

Answer the following 5Ws when narrowing a topic -- Who?, What?, Where?, Why?, and When?. The following is an example of how a topic might be narrowed:

Topic: Immigration

Narrower topic: Immigration policy

Narrower topic: Immigration policy reform

Narrower topic: Immigration policy reform (What?) -- Public opinion (Who?) -- United States (Germany, United Kingdom, France, etc.) (Where?)

Narrower topic: Immigration policy reform (What?) -- United States (Where?) -- 20th century (When?)

This 1 minute, 20 second video illustrates the practice of narrowing one's research and writing topic. For information on how to find sources for your topic through the NNU Riley Library, contact or stop by the Research Help Office in the Learning Commons (Room 133).

Information appears in different sources at different times and for different purposes. Considering the nature of your topic will determine the types of sources you will search for and utilize in the research and writing process. The following 3 minute, 44 second video demonstrates the process through which information appears and how long the process may be. The video was created by Polk Library, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh.

Why is it important to cite your sources?

To show where you got your information -- the reader can see you have set a good foundation for your research
To give credit to others who helped shape your ideas
To avoid plagiarism. See NNU's Academic Integrity Policy below
To help your reader locate the sources you used