Citations & More

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources. You can submit your papers to either the online undergraduate or online graduate writing labs. This link provides more information.

Article from a Reference Work with an Individual Author or No Author

• ​Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (date). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx- xxx). https://www.xxxxxxxxxxxxxx [Include either the DOI or the URL, if there is no DOI]

Example 1: Adamopoulos, J. (2004). Interpersonal behavior and culture. In C. D. Spielberger (Ed.), Encyclopedia of applied psychology. Elsevier Science & Technology. Credo Reference. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/estappliedpsyc/interpersonal_behavior_and_culture/0?institutionId=4721

Parenthetical citation 1: (Adamopoulos, 2004)

Narrative citation 1: Adamopoulos (2004)

Example 2: Bradsher, B. (2023). Sports safety. In CQ Researcher. CQ Press. https://doi.org/10.4135/cqresrre20230616

Parenthetical citation 2: (Bradsher, 2023)

Narrative citation 2: Bradsher (2023) indicated that.....

If there is no author of the entry, use the following format:

• Title of entry. (date). In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Publisher.

Example: Ruth, Babe (George Herman). (2004). In P. Cornelison, & T. Yanak, The great American history fact-finder (2nd ed.). Houghton Mifflin. Credo Reference. https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/hmgahff/ruth_babe_george_herman/0?institutionId=4721

Article from a Reference Work with a Group Author

• Group Author Name. (date). Entry title. In Title of work. Retrieved date of retrieval, from url

Example: Merriam-Webster. (n.d.) Self-report. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved July 12, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/self-report

Chapter/Article in a Volume of a Multivolume Work 

Author. (date). Title of chapter. In names of editor(s) (Ed. or Eds.), Title of work: Vol. #.  Title of volume (edition, page numbers). Publisher. doi

Example: Goldin-Meado, S. (2015). Gesture and cognitive development. In L. S. Liben & U. Mueller (Eds.), Handbook of child psychology and developmental science, Vol.2. Cognitive processes (7th ed., pp. 339-380). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118963418.childpsy209

Entry from Wikipedia

• Entry title. (date). In Wikipedia, url

Example: High-functioning autism. (2020, February, 12). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-functioning_autism

Parenthetical citation: ("High-functioning Autism", 2020)

Narrative citation: "High-functioning Autism" (2004)

If you quote directly from the source be sure to include the paragraph number where the quote resides in the parenthetical/narrative citations. (ex., "High-functioning autism", 2020, para. 4).

[Taken from pages 328 and 329, section 10.3, entries #45, #47, #48 and #49, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Authored Book with a DOI

• Author, A. A. (date). Title of work. https://doi:xxxxxxx

Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000

eBook from a library vendor or Google Books

• Name. (date). Title. Publisher. URL
• In the case of pulling the URL from Google Books, use TinyURL.com to create a shorter URL. Make sure the shorter link is functional.
• Example 1 below is from a library vendor; Example 2 is from Google Books with the full URL; Example 3 is from Google Books with the shortened URL, using tinyurl.com

Example: Corcoran, J., & Walsh, J. (2016). Clinical assessment and diagnosis in social work practice. Oxford University Press. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nnu-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4706603#

Example: Gray, M., & Webb, S.A. (2012). Social work theories and methods. Sage. https://www.google.com/books/edition/Social_Work_Theories_and_Methods/tbRlN0aXO08C?hl=en&gbpv=1

Example: Gray, M., & Webb, S.A. (2012). Social work theories and methods. Sage. https://tinyurl.com/yckz4zdz

Note: The third example is the preferred style for Google Books. The second example is a Google Book with the full URL.

Edited Book with a DOI

• Name(s) (Ed. or Eds.). (date). Title (edition, if any). Publisher. DOI

Example: Bush, S., & Heck, A. L. (Eds.). (2018). Forensic geropsychology: Practice essentials.  American Psychological Association. https://dx.doi.org/10.137/0000082-000

Chapter from an Edited Book with a DOI

• Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (date). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Publisher. DOI

Example: Balsam, K. F., Martell, C. R., Jones, K. P., & Safren. S.A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed., pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000119-012

NOTE: For more information about source formatting for eBooks, refer to the APA-style Blog.

[Taken from pages 321 through 323, 326 through 329, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

American Counseling Association, American Nurses Association, American Psychological Association, National Association of Social Workers

Reference Entry Examples:

American Counseling Association. (2014). 2014 ACA code of ethics.  https://www.counseling.org/docs/default-source/default-document-library/2014-code-of-ethics-finaladdress.pdf

American Nurses Association. (2015). Code of ethics for nurses with interpretive statements. https://www.nursingworld.org/practice-policy/nursing-excellence/ethics/code-of-ethics-for-nurses/coe-view-only/

American Psychological Association. (2017). Ethical principles of psychologists and code of conduct (2002, amended effective June 1, 2010, and January 1, 2017). https://www.apa.org/ethics/code/

National Association of Social Workers (2021). Code of ethics. https://www.socialworkers.org/About/Ethics/Code-of-Ethics

Parenthetical Citation Examples:

(American Counseling Association, 2014; American Nurses Association, 2015; American Psychological Association, 2017; National Association of Social Workers, 2021)

Narrative Citation Examples:

American Counseling Association (2014), American Nurses Association (2015), and American Psychological Association (2017), National Association of Social Workers (2021)

If you are citing a specific section or part:

Parenthetical Citations for specific Sections:

(American Counseling Association, 2014, Section A.1.d)

(American Nurses Association, 2015, Provision 1.4)

(American Psychological Association, 2017, Standard 3.04)

(National Association of Social Workers, 2021, Section 4.06)

Narrative Citations for specific Sections:

American Counseling Association (2014, Section A.1.d.)

American Nurses Association (2015, Provision 1.4)

American Psychological Association (2017, Standard 3.04)

National Association of Social Workers (2021, Section 4.06)

Information taken from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Section 10.4, Entry #55 (page 330) and the APA Style Blog.

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Data Set

• Author or Group Name. (date). Title (series or version no.) [Data set]. Source/Publisher. DOI

Examples: D'Souza, A., & Wiseheart, M. (2018). Cognitive effects of music and dance training in children (ICPSR 37080; Version V1) [Data set]. ICPSR. https://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR37080.v1

National Center for Education Statistics. (2016). Fast Response Survey System (FRSS): Teachers' use of educational technology in U.S. public schools, 2009 (ICPSR 35531; Version V3) [Data set and code book]. National Archive Data on Arts and Culture. https://doi.org/3886/ICPSR35531.v3

Pew Research Center. (2018). American trends panel Wave 26 [Data set]. https://www.pewsocialtrends.org/dataset/american-trends-panel-wave-26

Unpublished Raw Data

• Author. (date). [Type of data information]. Source.

Examples: Baer, R. A. (2015). [Unpublished raw data on the correlations between the Five Facet Mindfulness Questionnaire and the Kentucky Inventory of Mindfulness Skills]. University of Kentucky.

Oregon Youth Authority. (2018). Recidivism outcomes. [Unpublished raw data].

[Information taken from pages 337-338, section 10.9, entries #75 and #76, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Doctoral Dissertation or Master's Thesis from a Database

• Author, A. (Year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master's thesis (Publication No.) [Doctoral dissertation or master's thesis, name of institution).  Name of database.

Example: Hollander, M. M. (2017). Resistance to authority: Methodological innovations and new lessons from the Milgram experiment (Publication No. 10289373) [Doctoral dissertation, University of Wisconsin-Madison]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Sullivan, W. D. (2017). A case study exploring international student engagement at small, private colleges. https://nnu.whdl.org

Unpublished Dissertation or Thesis

• Author, A. (Year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master's thesis (Unpublished doctoral dissertation or master's thesis). Name of institution. 

Example: Sullivan, W. D. (2017). A case study exploring international student engagement at small, private colleges.[Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. Northwest Nazarene University

Doctoral Dissertation or Thesis published Online (not in a database) 

• Author, A. (Year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master's thesis (Doctoral dissertation, Name of Institution). URL

Example: Sullivan, W. D. (2017). A case study exploring international student engagement at small, private colleges [Doctoral dissertation, Northwest Nazarene University]. https://nnu.whdl.org

[Taken from pages 333-334, section 10.6, entries #64 through #66, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, and/or the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.). You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

DSM-V & ICD

• Corporate author. (date). Title (edition). doi

American Psychiatric Association. (2013).  Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

World Health Organization. (2019). International statistical classification of diseases and related health problems (11th ed.). https://icd.who.int/

Parenthetical citation with abbreviation included:

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed.; DSM-5; American Psychiatric Association, 2013).

International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (11th ed.; ICD-11). 

Narrative citation with abbreviation included:

American Psychiatric Association's (2013) Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (5th ed.; DSM-5)

World Health Organization's (2019) International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (11th ed.; ICD-11)

Subsequent parenthetical citations:

(American Psychiatric Association, 2013; World Health Organization, 2019)

Subsequent narrative citations:

American Psychiatric Association (2013) and World Health Organization (2019)

[Taken from page 324, section 10.2, entry #32, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, and/or the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

ERIC Documents (ED)

• Author, A. (Year). Document title. (ED######). ERIC. URL or file name (pdf link)

Example: Cochrane, T., Antonczak, L., Guinibert, M., & Mulrennan, D. (2014). Developing a mobile social media framework for creative pedagogies. (ED557171). ERIC. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/ED557241.pdf

NOTE: If the item in the ERIC database has an EJ before the number it is a journal article. Cite it as a journal article, not as an ERIC document.

[Taken from page 337, section 10.8, entry #74, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Also, use CrossRef to locate a doi if the database from which you found the article does not list one. Use the "Search an Article Title" option. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Journal Article with DOI

• Author, A., & Author, B. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page number(s). http..........

Example: Berger, I. (2015). Educational leadership with an ethics of plurality and natality. Studies in Philosophy & Education, 34(5), 475-487. https://dx.doi.org/10.1007/s11217-014-9448-x

Parenthetical citation: (Berger, 2015)

If you use a direct quote from the source: (Berger, 2015, p.477)

Narrative citation: Berger (2015) OR Berger demonstrated that ....... (2015)

If you quote directly from the source: Berger (2015, p. 477) noted, "......" OR Berger noted, "......." (2015, p.477)

Journal Article without a DOI and a nondatabase URL

• Author, A. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page number(s). URL

Example: Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 31(1), 17-39. https://www.ahead.org/professonal-resources/publications/jped/archived-jped/jped-volume-31

Parenthetical citation: (Ahmann et al., 2018)

 If you quote directly from the source: (Ahmann et al., 2018, p. 22)

Narrative citation: Ahmann et al. (2018) OR Ahmann et al. ..... (2018)

If you quote directly from the source: Ahmann et al. (2018, p. 22) noted, "......" OR Ahmann et al. noted, "......." (2018, p.22)

Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper Article without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version 

• Author, A. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page number(s). 

Examples: Anderson, M. (2018). Getting consistent with consequences. Educational Leadership, 76(1), 26-33. 

                     Goldman, C. (2018, November 28). The complicated calibration of love, especially in adoption. Chicago Tribune.

Parenthetical citation: (Anderson, 2018; Goldman, 2018)

 If you use a direct quote from the source: (Berger, 2015, p.30; Goldman, 2018, para.#)

Narrative citation: Anderson (2018) OR Anderson demonstrated that ....... (2018); Goldman (2018) reported that....

If you quote directly from the source: Anderson (2018, p. 30) noted, "......" OR Anderson noted, "......." (2018, p.30)

Journal Article with Volume Number, No Issue

• Author last name, first initial. (year). Title of article. Journal Title, volume(issue), page numbers [include full range, not just the first page]. 

Example: Sanchiz, M., Chevalier, A., & Amadieu, F. (2017). How do older and young adults start searching for information? Impact of age, domain knowledge and problem complexity on the different steps of information searching. Computers in Human Behavior, 72, 67–78. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2017.02.038

Parenthetical citation: (Sanchiz, Chevalier, & Amadieu, 2017)

 If you use a direct quote from the source: (Sanchiz, Chevalier, & Amadieu, 2017, p.72)

Narrative citation: According to Sanchiz, Chevalier, & Amadieu (2017)

If you quote directly from the source: Sanchiz, Chevalier, & Amadieu noted that, "........." (2017, p. 73).

Journal Article with Volume Number, No Issue, but an Article Number

Sometimes e-Journals will have an article number rather than an issue number and/or page numbers

• Author (last name, first initial). (date). Article title. Journal Title, volume, Article number, pages numbers (if provided) and DOI URL

Example: Arevalo, M-J., Cantera, M. A., Garcia-Marina, V., & Alves-Castro, M.. (2021). Analysis of university STEM students’ mathematical, linguistic, rhetorical–organizational assignment errors. Education Sciences, 11, Article 173, 1-17.

Journal Article, Advance online publication

Sometimes you will find articles that have not yet officially published in a journal, but they are being released by the publisher ahead of "print". 

• Author. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, Advance online publication. DOI URL

Example: Fowler, S., Kennedy, J.P., Cutting, C., Gabriel, F., & Leonard, S. N. (2023). Self-determined learning in a virtual makerspace: A pathway to improving spatial reasoning for upper primary students. International Journal of Technology and Design Education, Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10798-023-09840-y

Journal Article with a DOI, 21 or more authors

• Author, 1, Author, 2, Author, 3, Author, 4, Author, 5, Author, 6 . . . last author. (Date). Title of article. Title of journal, volume(issue), page numbers. http.............

Example: Kalnay, E., Kanamitsu, M., Kistler, R., Collins, W., Deaven, D., Gandin, L., ... & Zhu, Y. (1996). The NCEP/NCAR 40-year reanalysis project. Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, 77(3), 437-472. http://dx.doi.org/10.1175/1520-0477(1996)077%3C0437:TNYRP%3E2.0.CO;2

[Taken from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed., p. 317, section 10.1, entries #1-5]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

The UptoDate database is unique in the sense that entries are peer-reviewed (like many journal articles), but it may also be considered an online reference work. The following outlines how you should cite an entry obtained through the UptoDate database.

Author 1, & Author 2. (date). Title of entry. In first and middle initial last name (Ed.), UpToDate. Retrieved month day, year, from url of entry.

Example:

Twaddle, M. L., & McCormick, E. (2016). Palliative care delivery in the home. UpToDate. Retrieved October 29, 2019, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/palliative-care-delivery-in-the-home

Parenthetical citation:  (Twaddle & McCormick, 2016)

If you quoted directly from the source, (Twaddle & McCormick, 2016, para. #)

Narrative citation: Twaddle and McCormick (2016) OR Twaddle and McCormick indicated that ...... (2016)

If you quoted directly from the source, include the paragraph number for where the information is located.

[Information taken from page 319, section 10.1, entry #14, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Magazine Article

• Author, A. (Year, Month). Title of article. Title of magazine, volume(issue), page numbers.

Example: Turner, P. (2017, September/October). Catholics and the Protestant Reformation. Holiness Today​, 19(5), 25-27.

Online Magazine Article

• Author., A. (Year, Month). Title of article. Title of magazine. [insert URL of article] -- you can also do a shortened URL using tinyurl.com (see example below). Just make sure the URL works.

Example: Wapner, J. (2018, June). Could fasting cure diabetes?: Evidence on not eating for long stretches is compelling-and controversial. Newsweek. https://www.newsweek.com/could-fasting-cure-diabetes-evidence-not-eating-long-stretches-compelling-and-962014 OR https://tinyurl.com/yxx27wcr

Newspaper Article

• Author, A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of newspaper, page numbers.

Example: Wright, S. (2018, June 6). Non-native shrimp dumped in the Boise River are thriving. Idaho Statesman, pp.4A.

Online Newspaper Article

• Author, A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of newspaper. (insert URL of newspaper website) -- you can also do a shortened URL using tinyurl.com (see example below). Just make sure the URL works.

Example: Myers, S. L., & Perlez, J. (2018, June 6). A medical mystery grows as U.S. consulate workers in China fall ill. Seattle Times. https://www.seattletimes.com/nation-world/medical-mystery-grows-as-more-u-s-consulate-workers-in-china-fall-ill/  OR https://tinyurl.com/6zk2knmu

Webpage from an Online News Source

• Author. (date). Article title. Source. URL

Example: Andrews, S. (2020, February 24). A heat wave in Antarctica melted 20% of an island's snow in 9 days. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/2020/02/24/world/antarctica-heat-wave-melt-february-trnd/index.html OR shorter URL using tinyurl.com 

Editorial

• Author. (date). Title [Editorial]. Source, volume(issue), page #. doi

Example: Elders, M. J. (2012). Coming to grips with the U.S. adolescent birth rate [Editorial]. American Journal of Public Health, 102(112), 2205-2206. https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2012.300978 

[Information taken from pages 320, entries #15 through #19, and page 351, entry #110 in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Test, Scale, or Inventory

• Author. (date). Title. URL

Example: Project Implicit. (n.d.). Gender-Science IAT. https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html

Database Record for a Test

• Author. (date). Title [Database record]. Name of database. DOI (if available)

Example: Soares, L. M., & Soares, A. T. (1999). Self-Perceptions Inventory [1999 Revision] (The) [Database record]. Mental Measurements Yearbook. 

Manual for a Test, Scale, or Inventory

• Author. (date). Title. Publisher.

Example: Tellegen, A., & Ben-Porath, Y. S. (2011). Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-2 Restructured Form (MMPI-2-RF): Technical manual. Pearson.

[Taken from pages 340 and 341, section 10.11, entries #81 through #83, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Works, such as the Bible, Qur'an, and Torah, will now have entries in the Reference list. In previous editions of APA-style, such works had only parenthetical references.

King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769)

The Qur'an (M. A. S. Abdel Haleem, Trans.). (2004). Oxford University Press.

The Torah: The five books of Moses (3rd ed.). (2015). The Jewish Publication Society. (Original work published in 1962).

Parenthetical citation:

(King James Bible, 1769/2017; The Qur'an, 2004; The Torah, 1962/2015)

Narrative citation: 

King James Bible (1769/2017), The Qur'an (2004), and The Torah (1962/2015)

[Taken from page 325, section 10.2, entry #35 in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Sometimes you may need to reference an entire an entire mobile app rather than individual pieces of information from the app. The example below provides guidance on how to cite an app.

Format for an entire application.

Creator of app. (date). App title (Version) [Mobile app]. Vendor name (e.g. App Store). URL.

Example: Lexicomp. (2019). Lexicomp (Version 5.02) [Mobile app]. Google Play Store. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lexi.android 

Parenthetical citation: (Lexicomp, 2019)

Narrative citation: Lexicomp (2019)

Format for a reference entry from a mobile application

Creator of app. (date). Entry title. In App title (Version) [Mobile app]. Vendor name (e.g. App Store). URL.

Example: Lexicomp. (2019). Drug interactions: ibuprofen and melatonin. In Lexicomp: evidence-based drug treatment information (7.4.1) [Mobile app]. App Store. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/lexicomp/id313401238

Parenthetical citation: (Lexicomp, 2019)

Narrative citation: Lexicomp (2019)

[Information taken from page 340, entries # 79 and 80, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Blog Posts

• Author. (date). Title of post. Source title + URL OR Source URL

Examples: Klymkowski, M. (2018, September 15). Can we talk scientifically about free will? Sci-Ed. https://blogs.plos.org/scied/2018/09/15/can-we-talk-scientifically-about-free-will/

Bal, R. (n.d.). Emotional charge of trauma. https://rolandbal.com/emotional-charge/

Social Media

Tweet

• Author and Twitter handle. (date). Title. [notation] [form]. Twitter. URL

Example: APA Education [@APAEducation]. (2018, June 29). College students are forming mental-health clubs--and they're making a difference @washingtonpost [Thumbnail with link attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/apaeducation/status/1012810490530140161

Facebook Post

• Name. (date). Title [notation][type of post]. Facebook. URL

Example: Gaiman, N., (2018, June 29). 100,000+ Rohingya refugees could be at serious risk during Bangladesh's monsoon season.  My fellow UNHCR Goodwill Ambassador Cate Blanchett is [Image attached][Status update]. Facebook. http://bit.ly/2JQxPAD

Webpages and Websites

Webpage on a Website with a Group Author and with no date

• Author or Group.  (Date of publication). Title of page. URL

Example: Right to Life of Idaho. (n.d.). Legislation. http://www.rtli.org/legislation.html

Webpage on a Website with an Individual Author

• Author, A. A. (date). Title. URL

Examples: Graham, L. (2016, November 29). Mindfulness, self-compassion and resilience. Resources for Recovering Resilience. https://lindagraham-mft.net/mindfulness-self-compassion-and-resilience/

[Information taken from pages 320 and 350 through 352, sections 10.1, entry #17 & 10.16, entries #111 through #114, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

YouTube Videos

Author, A. (person or organization who posted the video) (Year, Month Day video posted). Title of video [Video]. YouTube. URL

Example: Mind, the mental health charity. (2014, October 8). Mental health: In our own words [Video]. YouTube.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_y97VF5UJcc

TedTalks

Speaker name.  (Year, Month). Title of video [Video].TED Conferences. URL 

Example: Blum, N. (2017, January). The mental health system: A call for change [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gI9Ddz0yW7o

[Information taken from pages 343 and 344, section 10.12, entries #88 and #90, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]

Always verify formatting of electronically generated citations with either the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.), the APA blog. You may also consult with a librarian or Writing Center tutor regarding source citation formatting. Make sure to double space and insert the hanging indent for all sources.

Personal communications is defined as email correspondence, text messages, interviews, live speeches, classroom lectures, memos, etc.. Since these works are not easily replicated or recoverable, references to the content should be cited in the text. 

Parenthetical citation: (T. Nguyen, personal communication, February 24, 2020)

Narrative citation: T. Nguyen (personal communication, February 24, 2020)

[Taken from page 260, section 8.9, in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.]